YARP
Yet Another Robot Platform
YARP 3.2.0 (2019-06-27)

YARP 3.2.0 Release Notes

A (partial) list of bug fixed and issues resolved in this release can be found here.

Important Changes

Dependencies

  • Optional dependency on YCM now requires version 0.10.4 or later.
  • Optional dependency on RobotTestingFramework now requires version 2 or later.
  • Rplidar SDK updated to 1.9.0
  • Thrift updated to 0.12.0
  • QCustomPlot 2 is now supported.
  • Optional dependency on LibOVR now requires version 1.17 or later.

Bindings

  • Removed support for 'Chicken Scheme' and 'Allegro Common Lisp'.
  • Swig 4 is now supported.

Devices

New Features

Build System

  • .ini files for plugins configured with yarp_prepare_plugin can now be automatically generated by yarp_add_plugin and installed by passing the YARP_INI DESTINATION argument to yarp_install.
  • The CREATE_LIB_MATH CMake option was renamed YARP_COMPILE_libYARP_math.
  • The CREATE_GUIS CMake option was renamed YARP_COMPILE_GUIS.
  • All the CREATE_<UPPERCASE_EXECUTABLE> were renamed YARP_COMPILE_<lowercase-executable>
  • All the YARP_USE_<UPPERCASEPACKAGENAME> were renamed YARP_USE_<PackageName>
  • All the YARP_USE_SYSTEM_<UPPERCASEPACKAGENAME> were renamed YARP_USE_SYSTEM_<PackageName>
  • All the internal CMake variables related to packages now use the same case as the relative CMake module (i.e. YARP_HAS_OpenCV instead of YARP_HAS_OPENCV)
  • yarp_idl_to_dir signature changed, and now supports passing optional parameters:
    yarp_idl_to_dir(INPUT_FILES <file> [file]
    OUTPUT_DIR <dir>
    [SOURCES_VAR <var>]
    [HEADERS_VAR <var>]
    [INCLUDE_DIRS_VAR <var>]
    [THRIFT_INCLUDE_PREFIX]
    [THRIFT_NO_NAMESPACE_PREFIX]
    [THRIFT_NO_COPYRIGHT}
    [THRIFT_NO_EDITOR]
    [THRIFT_NO_DOC]
    [VERBOSE])
    The old behaviour is still supported, but deprecated.
  • yarp_idl_to_dir always regenerates files if they are not available.
  • yarp_idl_to_dir No longer generates build targets.
  • Files returned by yarp_idl_to_dir are now relative to current directory.

Libraries

YARP_conf

YARP_OS

  • The following methods signatures were changed to accept const char instead of int as terminating character:
    • ConnectionReader::expectText()
    • ConnectionWriter::appendString()
    • InputStream::readLine()
  • Added YarpPluginSelector::checkPlugin() static method.
  • ConnectionWriter::appendString() is deprecated in favour of appendText().
  • ConnectionWriter::appendRawString() is deprecated in favour of appendString().
  • Added ConnectionReader::expectString().
  • Added the initiliizer_list constructor in yarp::os::Property.
  • Added the initiliizer_list constructor in yarp::os::Bottle.
  • yarp::os::NameSpace: All methods in the interface that take ContactStyle as parameter, are now passed by reference instead of by value.
    • ```diff
      • virtual bool connectPortToTopic(const Contact& src, const Contact& dest, ContactStyle style) = 0;
      • virtual bool connectPortToTopic(const Contact& src, const Contact& dest, const ContactStyle& style) = 0; *diff
      • virtual bool connectTopicToPort(const Contact& src, const Contact& dest, ContactStyle style) = 0;
      • virtual bool connectTopicToPort(const Contact& src, const Contact& dest, const ContactStyle& style) = 0; *diff
      • virtual bool disconnectPortFromTopic(const Contact& src, const Contact& dest, ContactStyle style) = 0;
      • virtual bool disconnectPortFromTopic(const Contact& src, const Contact& dest, const ContactStyle& style) = 0; *diff
      • virtual bool disconnectTopicFromPort(const Contact& src, const Contact& dest, ContactStyle style) = 0;
      • virtual bool disconnectTopicFromPort(const Contact& src, const Contact& dest, const ContactStyle& style) = 0; *diff
      • virtual bool connectPortToPortPersistently(const Contact& src, const Contact& dest, ContactStyle style) = 0;
      • virtual bool connectPortToPortPersistently(const Contact& src, const Contact& dest, const ContactStyle& style) = 0; *diff
      • virtual bool disconnectPortToPortPersistently(const Contact& src, const Contact& dest, ContactStyle style) = 0;
      • virtual bool disconnectPortToPortPersistently(const Contact& src, const Contact& dest, const ContactStyle& style) = 0; ```

YARP_sig

  • Added ImageUtils.h, an header containing the following image utilities:
    • utils::vertSplit
    • utils::horzSplit
    • utils::vertConcat
    • utils::horzConcat
  • yarp::sig::file Added support to write .png files
  • Added the following methods to VectorOf:
    • VectorOf(std::initializer_list<T>)
    • begin(), end(), cbegin(), cend()
    • reserve(size_t)
    • capacity()
    • push_back(T&&)
    • emplace_back(_Args...)
  • Deprecated VectorOf::getFirst() in favour of data() and begin(). Use either data() if you need the pointer to the first element, or begin() if you need the iterator.
  • Added yarp::sig::IntrinsicParams and yarp::sig::YarpDistortion emum.
  • Added two methods for computing a yarp::sig::PointCloud from depth images:
    • utils::depthToPC
    • utils::depthRgbToPC
  • Deprecated getIplImage and wrapIplImage in favour of the new utilities of YARP_cv.
  • Added move semantics in yarp::sig::Image.
  • The yarp::sig::Sound class was heavily refactored:
    • New data types:
      • Sound::audio_sample (short int)
    • Changed signatures:
      • ```diff
        • Sound(int bytesPerSample)
        • Sound(size_t bytesPerSample) *diff
        • int get(size_t sample, size_t channel) const
        • audio_sample get(size_t sample, size_t channel) const *diff
        • void set(int value, size_t sample, size_t channel)
        • void set(audio_sample value, size_t sample, size_t channel) *diff
        • void setSafe(int value, size_t sample, size_t channel)
        • void setSafe(audio_sample value, size_t sample, size_t channel) *diff
        • size_t getFrequency() const
        • int getFrequency() const *diff
        • void setFrequency(size_t freq)
        • void setFrequency(int freq) ```
    • Removed methods:
      • unsigned char *getRawData() const
      • size_t getRawDataSize() const
    • Added methods:
      • bool operator==(const Sound& alt) const
      • bool clearChannel(size_t channel)
      • Sound extractChannelAsSound(size_t channel_id) const
      • std::vector<std::reference_wrapper<audio_sample>> getChannel(size_t channel_id)
      • bool replaceChannel(size_t id, Sound channel)
      • std::vector<std::reference_wrapper<audio_sample>> getInterleavedAudioRawData() const
      • std::vector<std::reference_wrapper<audio_sample>> getNonInterleavedAudioRawData() const
      • std::string toString() const
      • double getDuration() const

YARP_dev

YARP_cv

  • Added YARP_cv, a conversion library from YARP images to cv::Mat and viceversa.

Devices

BatteryWrapper

  • Now handles correctly --subdevice option.

imuBosch_BNO055

  • Added MultipleAnalogSensor interface support.
  • Fixed conversion factor for gyro and magnetometer.
  • Fixed unit measure in ThreeAxis interface.

Navigation2DClient

  • Added handler for rpc string commands. By default the port is called <client_name>/user_commands/rpc.

fakeLaser

  • Added configuration parameters to set the range and the resolution of the device.

analogServer

  • Has learned to forward return codes to analogSensorClient (#1981).
  • Now forwards calibrateSensor(const yarp::sig::Vector& value) calls to wrapped subdevices.

ServerSoundGrabber

  • No longer implements IAudioGrabberSound.

ServerFrameGrabber

  • No longer implements audio interfaces.

RFModules

  • Added the possibility to compile RFModules as plugin and load them runtime in a single process context.

Tools

yarprobotinterface

  • YARP//DTD yarprobotinterface 3.0//EN is now the default parser for robot xml configuration files. yarprobotinterface will not run anymore deprecated DTD format v1.0

yarpidl_thrift

  • The thrift tool was refactored.
  • Fix list serialization for i8, i16 and i64 (#1962)
  • Structs can now be exported in dll APIs using the yarp.api.include and yarp.api.keyword annotations.
  • Portables serialized using appendExternalBlock (i.e. yarp::sig::Vector) can now be safely returned by thrift methods.
  • Files are now generating using namespace as subdirectory (this can be disabled using the no_namespace_prefix option.
  • Constants and typedefs are now properly generated in the namespace.

yarphear

  • Use portaudioPlayer instead of portaudio device.

GUIs

yarpmanager

  • Allow to specify an address for every host in the cluster-config.xml file. This allow to use host names that cannot be resolved automatically by the network.

yarpview

  • Added size (w,h) info for:
    • the image received on the yarp port
    • the image currently displayed in yarpview

Bug Fixes

Libraries

YARP_dev

  • ImplementPositionControl::checkMotionDone now correctly returns a single value as from API (#2027).

Contributors

This is a list of people that contributed to this release (generated from the git history using git shortlog -ens --no-merges v3.1.0..v3.2.0):

413 Daniele E. Domenichelli <daniele.domenichelli@iit.it>
154 Nicolò Genesio <nicolo.genesio@iit.it>
76 Marco Randazzo <marco.randazzo@iit.it>
70 Alberto Cardellino <alberto.cardellino@iit.it>
19 Valentina Gaggero <valentina.gaggero@iit.it>
13 Silvio Traversaro <silvio.traversaro@iit.it>
11 Bartek Łukawski <bwmn.peter@gmail.com>
8 Damiano Enerli <damiano.enerli@iit.it>
7 Ugo Pattacini <ugo.pattacini@iit.it>
5 Yeshasvi Tirupachuri <yeshasvi.tirupachuri@iit.it>
4 Andrea Ruzzenenti <andrea.ruzzenenti@iit.it>
4 Claudio Fantacci <claudio.fantacci@iit.it>
4 Matteo Brunettini <matteo.brunettini@iit.it>
4 Stefano Dafarra <stefano.dafarra@iit.it>
3 Andrea Ruzzenenti <ruzzenenti.a@gmail.com>
2 Arren Glover <arren.glover@iit.it>
2 Diego Ferigo <diego.ferigo@iit.it>
2 Nuno Guedelha <nuno.guedelha@iit.it>
2 Prashanth Ramadoss <prashanth.ramadoss@iit.it>
2 Tobias Fischer <t.fischer@imperial.ac.uk>
1 Austin Kothig <kothiga2112@gmail.com>
1 Emilio Benenati <emilio.benenati@iit.it>
1 Francesco Romano <francesco.romano@iit.it>
1 GiulioRomualdi <giulio.romualdi@gmail.com>
1 Jason Chevrie <jason.chevrie@iit.it>
1 Mohamed Babiker Mohamed Elobaid <mohamed.elobaid@iit.it>
1 Vadim Tikhanoff <vadim.tikhanoff@iit.it>
1 YARP Developers <yarp0-devel@lists.sourceforge.net>