YARP
Yet Another Robot Platform
YARP 2.3.72 (2018-02-12) Release Notes

A (partial) list of bug fixed and issues resolved in this release can be found here.

  • All the functionalities deprecated in YARP 2.3.65 and previous releases were removed.
  • C++11 is required also for using YARP, not just for compiling.
  • Optional dependency on YCM now requires version 0.6.0 or later.
  • Optional dependency on RTF now requires version 1.4.0 or later.
  • Dropped YARP1 support.
  • Changed how JAVA bindings are generated
  • yarp::sig::image::getIplImage() now can return a null pointer (instead of teminating with an assert) for not valid Ipl image formats
  • yarp::sig::image::setPixelCode() now set the pixelSize accordingly (which should not be set). Since yarp::sig::image::setPixelSize() also sets an arbitrary pixel code equal to negative itself (setPixelSize(3) will set the pixelCode to -3), it should be use only for image with custom formats not covered by a yarp pixelCode.

YARP_OS

  • Clock refactoring: clock type can be initialized in the yarp::os::Network constructor or in the Network::init() function. This will take precedence over the environment variable. yarp::os::SystemRateThread class created as RateThread clone but runs using system clock only, independently from other settings. Any call to yarp::os::Time::now() or delay() before the object yarp::os::Network is initialized will abort the program in order to avoid undefined behaviour of uninitialized Time object
  • Contactable::open(void) was deprecated. Use open("...") instead.
  • The following methods in yarp::os::RateThread are now protected instead of public:
    • virtual bool threadInit();
    • virtual void threadRelease();
    • virtual void run() = 0;
    • virtual void beforeStart();
    • virtual void afterStart(bool success);
  • The following methods in yarp::os::PortReaderBufferBase are now deprecated:
    • void setAllowReuse(bool flag = true)
    • void release(yarp::os::PortReader* completed)
  • The methods yarp::os::Bottle::operator==() and yarp::os::Bottle::operator!=() are now const.

YARP_OS

  • Added the property yarprun to ports opened through yarprun --server.
  • Added the property nameserver for the port opened through yarpserver.
  • The method yarp::os::Network::runNameServer() was removed.
  • Added possibility to enable and disable macOS AppNap (yarp/os/Os.h).
  • Added a few missing ConstString::assign overloads.
  • Added method yarp::os::carrier::createFace(), that returns the needed face of the carrier. This method is used in carriers::listen() and carriers::connect() in order to open new connection using the correct face.
  • The YARP_WRAP_STL_STRING option value is now by default OFF on non-MSVC platforms. This means that yarp::os::ConstString is now by default a typedef to std::string on these platforms.
  • Improve how parameters are given to the chosen carrier for a connection: all parameters given both on registration and on connect command are collected and made available in the connection initialization step.
  • Added support for register a contact with an associated carrier different from tcp. If the chosen carrier provides a custom yarp::os::Face implementation this becomes the handler of incoming connections. In any case the carrier becomes the default for future connections.

YARP_dev

YARP_serversql

  • Added a new Server class for using yarp server inside an applications. Both the yarp server application and the yarpserver rtf fixture use it.
  • New H264 carrier. It let you to read and decoding a h264 stream published by Gstreamer server.

ovrheadset

  • Added hud element setted by the configuration file and connected diretly to image ports

Map2DServer

  • Several RPC commands were added and removed.
  • Added options ROS::enable_ros_subscriber and ROS::enable_ros_publisher.

laserHokuyo

  • Serial port configuration is now searched in the SERIAL_PORT_CONFIGURATION configuration group.

yarpmanager

  • Imported the iCubCluster GUI from iCub (https://github.com/robotology/icub-main/tree/master/app/iCubCluster). It is available only on Unix.
  • Added file system watcher to reload the applications when the xml has been modified externally. The automatic reload can be disabled through a dedicated checkbox in "File" menu.
  • Added yarp name list and yarp clean actions after importing profiling capabilities of yarpviz.
  • Added modifiers column in the connection list for portmonitors.
  • Added the possibility to switch broker run-time, from LocalBroker to YarpBroker and viceversa.
  • yarpserver: created a RTF Fixture manager for running yarpserver as a fixture.

Java

  • Completely refactored JAVA Bindings (#1372) Java sources and pre-compiled classes are no more generated during the build process (PREPARE_CLASS_FILES option has been removed too). Two .jar files are instead generated and installed:
    • <install_dir>/share/yarp/java/yarp.jar: contains all the YARP Java classes.
    • <install_dir>/share/yarp/java/yarp_matlab_java.jar: contains Java utilities for MATLAB. The JNI libraries to be loaded by the JAVA application is now called libyarp_java.jnilib and it is installed in <install_dir>/lib/jni/libyarp_java.jnilib.
  • Changed package of JAVA MATLAB Utilities: from global package to yarp.matlab

YARP_OS

  • Added unprepare method to Publisher. See BufferedPort for documentation on how to use prepare and unprepare (#1425).
  • Optimized Stamp::read() and Stamp::write() for textMode.

YARP_sig

yarpmanager

  • Fixed the check of the status of the Computers, now it verifies that the corresponding port has been opened through yarp run. Be aware that after these changes yarpmanager will not detect machines with yarp 2.3.70 and earlier.
  • Added scan among the available carriers when you click connect and disconnect, if the specified carrier is not available a proper error message will be written on log.
  • the column carrier in the connection list has been substituted with a combobox with the available carriers.

yarpdataplayer

  • Fixed yarpdataplayer going to idle because of AppNap on macOS (#1153)

This is a list of people that contributed to this release (generated from the git history using git shortlog -ens --no-merges v2.3.70..v2.3.72):

192 Daniele E. Domenichelli <daniele.domenichelli@iit.it>
169 Nicolò Genesio <nicolo.genesio@iit.it>
166 Damiano Enerli <damiano.enerli@iit.it>
64 Alberto Cardellino <alberto.cardellino@iit.it>
49 Andrea Ruzzenenti <andrea.ruzzenenti@iit.it>
35 Marco Randazzo <marco.randazzo@iit.it>
25 Francesco Romano <francesco.romano@iit.it>
22 Ali Paikan <ali.paikan@iit.it>
14 Claudio Fantacci <claudio.fantacci@iit.it>
13 Silvio Traversaro <silvio.traversaro@iit.it>
12 Valentina Gaggero <valentina.gaggero@iit.it>
7 YARP Developers <yarp0-devel@lists.sourceforge.net>
5 Bartek Łukawski <bwmn.peter@gmail.com>
5 Nuno Guedelha <nuno.guedelha@iit.it>
4 Ugo Pattacini <ugo.pattacini@iit.it>
3 David-Estevez <david.estevez.fdez@gmail.com>
3 Lorenzo Natale <lorenzo.natale@iit.it>
2 Juan G Victores <jcgvicto@gmail.com>
2 Matteo Brunettini <matteo.brunettini@iit.it>
1 Elena Rampone <elena.rampone18@gmail.com>
1 Giovanni Saponaro <gsaponaro@isr.ist.utl.pt>
1 Marco Monforte <marco.monforte@iit.it>
1 Massimiliano Iacono <massimiliano.iacono@iit.it>

A (partial) list of bug fixed and issues resolved in this release can be found here.

  • Fixed build with CMake < 3.4
  • Removed IMPORTED_GLOBAL property from YarpOSXUtilities.cmake.

YARP_sig

YARP_dev

  • ControlBoardWrapper now correctly passes on any monitoring to wrapped subdevices.
  • Subdevices wrapped by ControlBoardWrapper are now identified by their actual name by the monitor object, that is, their name will be displayed on the command line if yarpdev was called with --verbose. Previously, it used a generic "subdevice" identifier.
  • Added missing IFrameGrabberControl2 to RGBDSensorWrapper
  • Fixed RGBDSensorWrapper compatibilty with frameGrabberGui2.

yarpscope

  • Fixed bottle handling.

ControlBoardRemapper

  • Fixed getEncoderAccelerations() method.
  • Fixed find Openni2 in depthCamera's CMakelists.txt.
  • Fixed out of source builds.

This is a list of people that contributed to this release (generated from the git history using git shortlog -ens --no-merges v2.3.72..v2.3.72.1):