YARP  2.3.70
Yet Another Robot Platform
YARP 2.3.68.1 (2017-06-15)

YARP 2.3.68.1 Release Notes

A (partial) list of bug fixed and issues resolved in this release can be found here.

Important Changes

Build System

  • YARP_gsl was removed from the YARP_LIBRARIES CMake variable where it was erroneously added. If you are using that library you might need to add YARP::YARP_gsl to the list of libraries linked by your target.
  • The CREATE_SHARED_LIBRARY option is deprecated in favour of the standard BUILD_SHARED_LIBS.
  • Plugins are now added to FeatureSummary if available.
  • Fixed symbol visibility logic. Not exported symbols are now always hidden. The YARP_EXPERIMENTAL_FILTER_API option can be used to hide also symbols from the impl libraries (it will not build at the moment).

Devices

depthCamera

  • Spelling of the length-related parameters was fixed. You might have to fix your configuration files.

New Features

Build System

  • Builds from git repositories will now contain the git commit and dirty state in the version number (For example 2.3.68+98-20161222.4+git3942468+dirty (2.3.68+98)). YARP_VERSION_MAJOR, YARP_VERSION_MINOR, YARP_VERSION_PATCH and YARP_VERSION_TWEAK meanings hasn't changed. YARP_VERSION_STRING was removed since it was never used.

Devices

  • Added new laserFromDepth device.

Bug Fixes

Build System

  • Fixed YARP_CLEAN_API build with GCC 6.1 or later (that uses c++14 by default) by forcing -std=c++98 (#978).
  • Fixed YARP_EXPERIMENTAL_CXX11 on MSVC 12 2013.
  • The YARP_ABORT_ON_WARNING and YARP_FATAL_ERRORS options were restored.
  • Added workaround for FindCUDA bug when crosscompiling. See https://gitlab.kitware.com/cmake/cmake/issues/16509.

CMake Modules

  • Fixed issues in yarp_add_idl command when generating files using paths containing ..
  • Fixed issues in yarp_idl_to_dir command when generating files on paths containing white spaces.

Libraries

YARP_OS

  • Fixed typo preventing successful compilation on linux/mac with C++11 enabled.
  • yarp::os::idl::BareStyle<T> and yarp::os::idl::BareStyle<T> are no longer erroneously marked as YARP_OS_API.
  • Fixed memory leak in yarp::os::Contact when SKIP_ACE is enabled.
  • Fixed Windows 2000 detection in SystemInfo.
  • Fixed security issue related to the buffer size in yInfo(), yDebug(), etc. functions.
  • Maximum string size in yInfo(), yDebug(), etc. functions was increased to 1024 characters.
  • Fixed commands yarp name get /port accepts and yarp name get /port offers.
  • Fixed deadlock during a device closure after calling a prepare of a closed port.
  • Fixed reply to yarp::os::Node::Helper::getBusInfo if no connections available, now it returns an empty list.

YARP_sig

YARP_dev

  • Added warning when loading a plugin with a wrong library parameter (#975).
  • Fixed the comunication of mirroring and intrinsic parameter through sender and parser in IVisualParamsImpl.
  • Fixed ControlBoardRemapper not returning an error on malformed axesNames.
  • IControlLimits2Raw now inherits publicly from IControlLimitsRaw.
  • Fixed missing include of yarp/dev/api.h in IEncoders.h (#1127)
  • Fixed missing include of yarp/os/Vocab.h in IControlMode.h (#1199)
  • Fixed FrameTransformClient::waitForTransform() (#1183)
  • Fixed memory leak in ControlBoardWrapper.
  • Fixed memory leak in Rangefinder2DClient.
  • Fixed wrong ROS message in ControlBoardWrapper if ROS = only.

YARP_math

  • Fix resizing of output matrices in SVD (#1062, #1066).

Private libraries

YARP_manager

  • Fixed typo in setEnvironemnt, now setEnvironment

Tools

yarprobotinterface

  • Devices are now closed in the reverse order as they are created.

yarpidl_rosmsg

  • Fixed an out-of-bounds error if an array contained in a ros message has size == 0
  • Fixed segfault when publishing a ros message including a null vector

yarpdataplayer

  • Fixed memory leak.

GUIs

yarpview

  • Fixed RPATH.

yarpscope

  • Fixed RPATH.

yarpmanager

  • Removed extra ';' from enviornment variables and port prefix (#980, #982).
  • Fixed saveAs action(#755).
  • Added warning in case of creation of a new file(application) that already exists.
  • Fixed double tab open of the same application.
  • Added key shortcuts for the actions.
  • Removed automatically applications, modules and resources that no longer exist on disk when double click on them or click edit.
  • Fixed the addition to the tree of multiple applications pointing to the same xml file.
  • Fixed refresh button, before ignored every text entry changed int the application tab.
  • Added automatic refresh on the application tab open.
  • Added automatic application tab open when you load an application from disk.
  • Disabled the select all after pressing run all, stop all, refresh all and kill all actions.
  • Added run/stop/kill/connect/disconnect all and run/stop/kill/connect/disconnect selected

yarplaserscannergui

  • Fixed close button not closing the gui (#720).
  • Fixed laser orientation to have x axis pointing towards N and y axis towards W (as in ROS)

yarpbatterygui

  • Fixed memory leak in closing.

Carriers

  • Fixed issue in tcpros carrier causing a severe slowdown of yarp::os::Publisher when multiple ros clients are connected to the same topic.

Devices

  • Fixed rangeFinder2DClient and getLaserMeasurement() function of various hardware devices: laser_angle_of_view was not computed correctly.
  • Fixed bugs in AnalogWrapper: start() return value is checked (important for avoiding address conflict), all the ports needed are opened only once and not multiple times, fixed memory leaks.

fakeMotionControl

  • Fixed error in open function.
  • Better param check.

depthCamera

  • Added missing distortion model params.
  • Implemented camInfo messages for ros interoperation.
  • Fixed parsing file error.
  • Cleanup and improved documentation.
  • Fixed segmentation fault on device shutdown.
  • Fixed segmentation fault when passing an incorrect configuration.
  • Fixed resolution from config.

fakeLaser

  • Improved fakeLaser test to display x and y axis.

rangeFinder2DWrapper

  • Added internal subdevice spawn and attach.
  • Fixed parameter name in error message.

rpLidar

  • Allow to set negative max_angle & min_angle, allowing a virtual rotation of the sensor zero (#1019).

Bindings

  • RPATH is now correctly set for python bindings.

Contributors

This is a list of people that contributed to this release (generated from the git history using git shortlog -ens --no-merges v2.3.68..v2.3.68.1):

145 Daniele E. Domenichelli <daniele.domenichelli@iit.it>
44 Nicolò Genesio <nicolo.genesio@iit.it>
15 Andrea Ruzzenenti <andrea.ruzzenenti@iit.it>
13 Alberto Cardellino <alberto.cardellino@iit.it>
12 Marco Randazzo <marco.randazzo@iit.it>
9 Francesco Romano <francesco.romano@iit.it>
6 Matteo Brunettini <matteo.brunettini@iit.it>
6 Silvio Traversaro <silvio.traversaro@iit.it>
5 Lorenzo Natale <lorenzo.natale@iit.it>
4 Bartek Łukawski <bwmn.peter@gmail.com>
3 Aiko Dinale <aiko.dinale@iit.it>
2 Ali Paikan <ali.paikan@iit.it>
2 Bertrand Higy <bertrand.higy@iit.it>
2 Juan G Victores <jcgvicto@gmail.com>
1 Giovanni Saponaro <gsaponaro@isr.ist.utl.pt>
1 Tobias Fischer <t.fischer@imperial.ac.uk>
1 Ugo Pattacini <ugo.pattacini@iit.it>
1 Vítor Galvão <info@vitorgalvao.com>
1 Zero King <l2dy@icloud.com>