YARP  2.3.70.1
Yet Another Robot Platform
YARP 2.3.65 (2016-05-13)

YARP 2.3.65 Release Notes

A (partial) list of bug fixed and issues resolved in this release can be found here.

Important Changes

  • YARP is now automatically installed with the RPATH enabled. This can be disabled by setting the CMAKE_SKIP_RPATH or CMAKE_SKIP_INSTALL_RPATH variables.
  • The portmonitor can now be built without LUA and uses YARP plugins system of having to locate the shared libraries manually.
  • The yarp::dev::IDepthSensor, yarp::dev::IRGBDSensor interfaces and the RGBDSensorClient and RGBDSensorWrapper devices were erroneously introduced as a "stable", but they are still under development and therefore are not to be used, and will be removed in the next tweak release (v2.3.65.1). They will be probably re-introduced in the next stable release series (v2.3.68).

Bug Fixes

YARP_OS

New Features

YARP_OS

  • ResourceFinder::configure(argc,argv,bool) accepts a third optional parameter to keep/skip the first command line argument

yarprobotinterface

The robotInterface tool in robotology/icub-main was imported in YARP with a few non compatible changes:

  • robotInterface was renamed yarprobotinterface to follow the convention with yarp executables
  • The RPC port opened is now /<robotname>/yarprobotinterface
  • The default .ini file name is now yarprobotinterface.ini
  • The DTD line for XML files is now
    <!DOCTYPE [...] PUBLIC "-//YARP//DTD yarprobotinterface 1.0//EN" "http://www.yarp.it/DTD/yarprobotinterfaceV1.0.dtd">

yarpmanager++

A new yarpmanager++ tool which merges the functionalities of the yarpmanager and yarpbuilder was added.

Deprecated Features

YARP_OS

  • yarp::os::Module is now deprecated in favour of yarp::os::RFModule.
  • YARP_ASSERT is now deprecated in favour of yAssert.

YARP_dev

  • The following YARP methods have been deprecated:
    • iPositionControl::setPositionMode()
    • iVelocityControl::setVelocityMode()
    • iTorqueControl::setTorqueMode()
    • iOpenLoopControl::setOpenLoopMode()

Devices

  • controlboard and clientcontrolboard devices are now deprecated in favour of controlboardwrapper2 and remote_controlboard.

Tools

  • yarpserver2 and yarpserver3 are now considered deprecated and will be removed in the next release.

GUIs

  • All guis based on GTK2 are now considered deprecated and will be removed in the next release.

Contributors

This is a list of people that contributed to this release (generated from the git history using git shortlog -ens --no-merges v2.3.64..v2.3.65):

480 Daniele E. Domenichelli <daniele.domenichelli@iit.it>
92 Alberto Cardellino <alberto.cardellino@iit.it>
81 Marco Randazzo <marco.randazzo@iit.it>
57 Ali Paikan <ali.paikan@iit.it>
48 Ugo Pattacini <ugo.pattacini@iit.it>
44 Lorenzo Natale <lorenzo.natale@iit.it>
24 Francesco Romano <francesco.romano@iit.it>
24 Silvio Traversaro <silvio.traversaro@iit.it>
17 Matteo Brunettini <matteo.brunettini@iit.it>
15 Vadim Tikhanoff <vadim.tikhanoff@iit.it>
5 Giulia Vezzani <giulia.vezzani@iit.it>
4 Alessandro Roncone <alessandro.roncone@iit.it>
4 Elena Ceseracciu <elena.ceseracciu@iit.it>
4 Konstantinos Theofilis <kostas@ams.eng.osaka-u.ac.jp>
3 Davide Perrone <dperrone@aitek.it>
3 YARP Developers <yarp0-devel@lists.sourceforge.net>
2 Claudio Fantacci <claudio.fantacci@iit.it>
2 Davide Pollarolo <davide.pollarolo@iit.it>
2 Francesco Nori <francesco.nori@iit.it>
1 Alessio Rocchi <alessio.rocchi@iit.it>
1 Davide Tome <davide.tome@iit.it>
1 Francesca Stramandinoli <francesca.stramandinoli@iit.it>
1 Gabriele Nava <gabriele.nava@mail.polimi.it>
1 Valentina Gaggero <valentina.gaggero@iit.it>